Carramore International Limited
Carramore International Limited

UN hazard classes and Packing Groups


There are 9 hazard classes defined in the Regulations namely:

Class 1 – Explosives (sub-divided into six divisions).

Class 2 – Gases (sub-divided into three divisions).

Class 3 – Flammable Liquids.

Class 4 – Flammable Solids; Substances liable to spontaneous combustion; Substances which, in contact with water,
emit Flammable Gases (sub-divided into three divisions).

Class 5 – Oxidizing Substances and Organic Peroxides (sub-divided into two divisions).

Class 6 – Toxic and Infectious Substances.

Division 6.1 – Toxic.

Division 6.2 – Infectious Substances.

Class 7 – Radioactive Material.

Class 8 – Corrosives.

Class 9 – Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods, including Lithium Batteries. These have become a serious concern for the airline industry with consequent frequent and increasingly complex rule changes.

Due to the wide scope of some classes they are further sub-divided into divisions. Division 6.2 Infectious Substances is one such instance.


There are 3 packing groups defined in the Regulations namely:

Packing Group I – High Danger.

Packing Group II – Medium Danger.

Packing Group III – Low Danger.


Over any given period it is likely that your requirements will include at least one of these classes or divisions, explosives excepted.

Typical examples include:

Division 2.2 Compressed gas, n.o.s.* (Carbon dioxide, Oxygen, Nitrogen).

Class 3 Ethanol.

Division 4.1 Paraformaldehyde.

Division 5.1 Potassium permanganate.

Division 6.1 Chloroform.

Division 6.2 Biological substance, Category B.

Class 7 Radioactive isotope.

Class 8 Hydrochloric acid.

Class 9 Dry ice, Lithium Batteries